Warwick Armstrong
Photo Credit – Wikipedia
On 25 July 1921, at Old Trafford, Australian all-rounder Warwick Armstrong bowled two consecutive overs in the same innings in a Test match for the first time since it was outlawed, in 1890. What has actually happened? The rain had reduced the Test to a two-day match. England batted, and Lionel Tennyson declared at 5.50 with the score on 341/4.
But as the umpires and batsmen left, Australian wicketkeeper Sammy Carter informed his captain Armstrong that as per Law 55, Tennyson was not allowed to declare within the last 100 minutes of a day in a two-day match. So the Australians stayed put (I am more or less certain Armstrong enjoyed this) as everyone had to return.
Then Armstrong, who had bowled the last over before the break, bowled the next one as well. Warwick Windridge Armstrong was an Australian cricketer who played 50 Test matches between 1902 and 1921. An all-rounder, Warwick captained Australian side in 10 Test matches between 1920 and 1921, and was undefeated, winning 8 Tests and drawing 2.
Warwick Armstrong was captain of the 1920–21 Australian team which defeated the touring English side with a massive margin 5–0. This one of only three teams to win an Ashes series in a whitewash. Warwick Test career interrupted by the First World War, but he managed to score 2,863 runs at an average of 38.68, including 6 centuries and took 87 wickets at 33.59 with the career-best of 6 for 35. Warwick Armstrong was inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame in 2000.
Armstrong (centre, middle row) with his 1920–21 team, considered one of the great Test teams of all time
Armstrong (center, middle row) with his 1920–21 team, considered one of the great Test teams of all time. Photo Credit – Wikipedia

Also, See – Ernie Toshack – Member of Bradman’s Invincible Side

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here